HPC Employees

About Us

Heartland Power Cooperative is a Touchstone Energy Cooperative. We are a member-owned distribution cooperative serving approximately 5,200 homes, farms, businesses, and industry in North Central Iowa and South Central Minnesota with over 1,800 miles of electric power lines. Our cooperative serves Hancock, Kossuth, Winnebago, Worth, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Floyd, Howard, Mitchell counties in Iowa and Fairbault, Freeborn and Mower counties in Minnesota.
Established in 1998 after 2 cooperatives merged into one as Heartland Power Cooperative. We are committed to providing our members with quality and affordable energy services that both meet and exceed their expectations.

Our Vision

Our vision is to be the provider of choice for energy and services by all consumers.

Our Mission

Our primary purpose is to provide electrical energy and other services that enhance the quality of life of our members and the economic and social well-being of the region at the lowest possible cost consistent with sound economic and management decisions.

Board of Directors

There are many advantages to being a cooperative member. One of the biggest advantages is the right to vote. Each member, as an owner of their electric cooperative, has one vote by which bylaws are made and directors are seated. Members elect a board of directors from the membership at the cooperative annual meeting. The eight seated directors serve as trustees of the cooperative. They set the policy in regards to electric rates, expenditures, and the operation of the cooperative. Because the directors are members of the cooperative themselves, they live with the rates and policy that they set. These decisions are made in the best interest of the cooperative.

Don Knudtson, President, District 3

Mark Kingland, Vice-President & DPC Director, District 2

Vince Morische, Secretary, District 6

Tricia Jaeger, Treasurer, District 7

Roger Solomonson, District 1

Gary Pearson, Assistant Secretary-Treasurer, District 5

Michael Cole, Director, District 4


Jon Leerar, CEO/General Manager

Karrie Pringnitz, Director of Finance/Administrative Services

Dave Low, Director of Operations